Bifurcations of humanity: Part I

Well, now I have gone and done it. I have used a two dollar word when perhaps a ten cent word would have sufficed. Maybe. But, I feel “bifurcation” says what I really want to say. So, if this is not a word you love like I do, here’s a definition:

bi-fur-ca-tion: (noun) the division of something into two branches or parts.

Probably too much effort goes into trying to classify each other as having this quality or that quality. Sometimes, we go negative and highlight what people lack. But, for a bit of whimsy, I like to muse over simple binary classifications. That is, some things in life can take the form of a tree branch, some going right, some going left.

So, I have had this song by Robin Schultz in my head called “Sugar”. The most critical and profound part of the song is as follows:

Got me lifted drifted higher than the ceiling

And ooh baby it’s the ultimate feeling

You’ve got me lifted feeling so gifted

Sugar how you get so fly?

I am sure you’re as moved as I am by these profound lyrics. But, what I paused on was the word, “fly.” I think humanity diverges between those who can pull off this usage of the word “fly” and those who cannot. I have often referred to a fly of the winged “house” variety. I have also been known to “fly” in an airplane. As I a child, I contemplated being able to fly like Superman. However, I have come to the conclusion that I am not one who should use the word “fly” in the way that it is used in Robin Schultz’s song. In the fork in the road of humanity, I am not a “fly” guy.

I won’t try to get into who should or should not use “fly” this way. It’s not my business. But, perhaps the more salient point is for each of us to contemplate on which side in this bifurcation of humanity we find ourselves. Good luck with this heady exercise should you choose to take it on!

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

The abandoned shopping cart

What happened to the “owner” of the abandoned shopping cart? As I pass the cart for the second day in a row, and notice that it has not moved, I wonder about its “owner.” I have, on occasion, watched homeless folks arrange their... Continue →